Vegan Chocolate Cake Donuts with Chocolate Glaze

Donut 3

Oh Divine-ness!!! This morning, as Mads and I lay snuggling in bed, we began scheming about all of the deliciousness we could make for breakfast. We thought of flavored pancakes, waffles, oatmeals, breads—but none of them seemed quite right. Mads, defeated, finally said, “Mom, why don’t we just go to the store and get some donuts?” Uhhh…say what??? Did my own child JUST say that? Well, I’ve got one better for you dear innocent child of mine—we will make those beloved donuts!!!

I admit that I didn’t have a donut recipe readily available, but thanks to Pinterest, we were able to piece together a pretty great recipe (if I do say so myself!). Also, admittedly, I don’t have a donut pan…so long live the improvisation! We indulged in “heart” shaped donuts (they looked more like giant misshaped donut holes) and mini bundt cake donuts—but they got the job done!

When Mads and I started out baking, we thought that we’d have regular, plain cake donuts with chocolate glaze, but then we got crazy mid-mix and opted for chocolate cake donuts—and we are so glad that we did! Given my cinnamon addiction, we had to add in some cinnamon, and it is such a great combo. I also loooove browned butter, but I realized that I’m not sure if I’ve really actually browned vegan butter. It does brown up, but it’s much different than regular butter. For one, it takes a bit longer, and the vegan butter seems to separate a bit more. I think that I probably could have browned it a bit more, but I got nervous and pulled the butter off of the stove, so next time, I’ll push it a little further, trying to get more of the yummy browned flavor.

While the donuts were baking, we just had to make a scrumptious chocolate glaze (would you judge me if I said I ate the glaze by the spoonful? If you would judge…then I didn’t… 😉 ). Since no donut is complete without sprinkles, we added a bunch for funzies!

 

Chocolate Cake Donuts with Chocolate Glaze

Donut Ingredients

2 cup all-purpose flour
2 TBSP almond flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
2/3 cup sugar
2 TBSP cocoa powder
3 TBSP Earth Balance butter
2 flax eggs (2 TBSP ground flax meal mixed with 6 TBSP warm water)
1 cup almond milk mixed with 1 TBSP vinegar
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

For the Chocolate Glaze:

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
4 TBSP unsweetened cocoa powder
a pinch of salt
3 to 4 TBSP almond milk
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions:
1. Preheat your oven to 350F. Lightly grease your doughnut pan with butter and set aside.
2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients: flour, almond flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, sugar, and cocoa powder.
3. Melt the butter in a small saucepan over medium-low heat. It will begin to crackle and froth up as it melts and releases its water. The butter will start to separate a bit and will start to calm down. You will get a brown/darker layer on the bottom of the pan, remove the pan from heat and immediately transfer the browned butter (brown bits and all) to a small bowl.
4. In another bowl whisk together the flax eggs, almond milk/vinegar mix, vanilla extract, and browned butter.
5. Add the wet ingredients all at once to the dry ingredients. Stir together until no flour bits remain and all of the ingredients are well combined. Try not to overmix the batter to avoid creating rubbery doughnuts.
6. Use a small spoon to dollop batter into the pan. Fill each doughnut in the pan three-quarters full with batter. Place in the oven and bake for 8 to 10 minutes. Keep an eye on them so you don’t over-bake. They should feel springy to the touch when ready.
7. Remove from the oven and invert onto a wire rack to cool completely. While the doughnuts cool, make the glaze.
8. To make the glaze, sift together powdered sugar, cocoa powder, and salt. Whisk in 2 tablespoons of almond milk and vanilla extract. Add more milk as necessary to create a thick but still just pourable glaze. (Though you’re not going to pour it; you’re going to dunk the donuts)
9. Once the doughnuts are completely cool, dip top-side-down into the chocolate glaze. Return to the wire rack and sprinkle with toppings.

 

We all loved these donuts so much, and now I can’t wait to try making more! I may have to invest in a donut pan…or just keep improvising…

Do you have a favorite donut recipe to share? You just may entice me to get that donut pan afterall! 😉

Hi there! I'd love to hear your comments and feedback!